Munchies for the Mind II

So They Say:

Prayer

I throw myself down in my chamber, and I call in, and invite God, and his Angels thither, and when they are there, I neglect God and his Angels, for the noise of a fly, for the rattling of a coach, for the whining of a door.
John Donne (1572-1631)

Love
To fall in love is to create a religion that has a fallible god.
Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1986)

ROMEO
What shall I swear by?
JULIET
Do not swear at all;
Or, if thou wilt, swear by thy gracious self,
Which is the god of my idolatry,
And I’ll believe thee.
William Shakespeare (1564-1616)

Austerity
The greater the pain, the greater the gain. (pleeon kopos, polu kentos)
Ignatius of Antioch (35-110)

Nama-Abhasa:

From a dialogue about nama-abhasa (Chaitanya Charitamrita, Antya-lila, Ch. 3):

Chaitanya: My dear Thakura Haridasa, in this Age of Kali most people are bereft of Vedic culture, and therefore they are called yavanas [barbarians]. They are concerned only with killing cows and brahminical culture. In this way they all engage in sinful acts. How will these yavanas be delivered? To My great unhappiness, I do not see any way.

Haridasa: My dear Lord, do not be in anxiety. Do not be unhappy to see the condition of the yavanas in material existence. Because the yavanas are accustomed to saying “ha rama, ha rama” [unclean! unclean!], they will very easily be delivered by this nama-abhasa [a dim reflection of the divine name]. A devotee in advanced ecstatic love exclaims, “ha rama, ha rama” [“O my Lord Ramacandra! O my Lord Ramacandra!”] But the yavanas also chant, “ha rama, ha rama!” Just see their good fortune! The chanting of the Lord’s holy name to indicate something other than the Lord is an instance of nama-abhasa. Even when the holy name is chanted in this way, its transcendental power is not destroyed. [Quoting from the Nrisimha Purana:] “Even a mleccha [barbarian] who is being killed by the tusk of a boar and who cries in distress again and again, ‘ha rama, ha rama’ attains liberation. What then to speak of those who chant the holy name with veneration and faith?” The word ‘rama’ consists of the two syllables ‘ra’ and ‘ma.’ These are unseparated and are decorated with the loving word ‘ha,’ meaning ‘O.’ The letters of the holy name have so much spiritual potency that they act even when uttered improperly.”

Guilty of Only Being a Dog:

“A dog thinks, ‘I am a dog,’ because he has the body of a dog. If I am thinking that I am Indian because this body was born on Indian soil, then how am I different from the dog? The bodily conception of life is simply animalism.” -Srila Prabhupada

1 Comment

Filed under Munchies for the Mind

One response to “Munchies for the Mind II

  1. Shraddha has been right: I do like this weeks post; not just because of the dog though…

Leave a Reply

